New Year in September

Years ago I made a promise to myself to go to some place new each time I turn a year older. This was going to be my way to celebrate the gift of life, a way to remind myself of new beginnings, of discoveries, of chasing dreams.

If memory serves me right, I made my first trip in 2009. My destination was Bangkok and supposedly, Cambodia. It was a trip of many firsts. To start the long list, it was my first time to use my own money for travel, first time to d-i-y a trip, first time in Clark Airport, first time to travel abroad, first time to travel abroad with mom, first time to twice escape the wrath of a typhoon.

In 2010, I made my first trip to Bantayan Island with four high school best friends. My first trip where I spent the eve of my birthday sick that I had to skip dinner and sleep. Bantayan, part of the province of Cebu, is the hometown of my dad’s mother. It was one of the places I have always wanted to visit for sentimental reasons. My dad shared stories about this place, he told me that one day when I’m a little older he’ll bring me to visit Bantayan. We never got the chance to be in this place together. My dad passed in November 2003, I was a university freshmen, far away from home.

In 2011, Lil Bro helped me to fulfill my dream to see the Angkor Wat in Cambodia. It ended up becoming a tri-country trip, Vietnam – Cambodia – a little of Thailand. This was the first time I travelled abroad with some of my high school buddies, first time to be sweared at by a local, first time to encounter immigration border security mishaps, first time to feel a mix of helplessness, fear, weariness, and all sorts of emotions you get when travelling in a foreign country by bus for x number of hours. A trip that started early in the day in Vietnam-Cambodia border got us to Siem Reap, Cambodia late in the evening.

September 2012 was quite busy. The week of my birthday got sandwiched with several local trips (Bacolod – birth week – Cebu- Bacolod/Iloilo) that celebrating some place else would be quite impractical. The celebration was a hearty dinner with closest friends.

This year 2013, it’s another new place and activity off my list: Siquijor and cliff jumping. Detailed posts of the Siquijor trip and my past travels are coming up in the next few days and weeks. Happy New Year to me!

Siquijor

Share your thoughts

